RSS

Therm-A-Rest Prolite Plus Gear Review

31 Mar

Therm-A-Rest Prolite Plus

Specs:

 

Prolite Plus Large in use

Top Material: Polyester

Bottom Material: Nylon

Fill Material: Urethane Foam

Foam Type: Diagonal Punched

R-value: 3.8

Thickness: 1.5 inches

Color: Pomegranate

 

Size: Small, Regular, Large

Width: 20 in, 20 in, 25 in

Length: 47 in, 66 in, 77 in

Packed Dimensions: 4 in X 11 in, 4.8 in X 11 in, 5.1 X 13 inches

Volume: 1410 cu in, 2052 cu in, 2656.5 cu In

Weight: 1lb 1oz, 1lb 8oz , 2lb 1oz

Features:

  • Bottom grips to better keep from sliding on the sleeping surface
  • Top is textured to help the sleeper remain on the mat
  • Interior foam to decrease air circulation and increase warmth factor

My experience:

After many uncomfortable nights on Ridge-Rest foam pads (The most comfortable foam pad I have tried to-date), I decided that sleep was a luxury I wanted on my excursions in the backcountry and camping in general. I bought a large Prolite Plus shortly before a canoe trip in Canada and was pleasantly surprised at the small volume on the pad when deflated and rolled. Upon inflating the pad, my experience became even more pleasant, I was astounded by that fact that with a little extra air pushed into the pad, I could sleep on top of roots without feeling they were there. I knew I had a good purchase. After spending multiple nights on slopes and precarious placements, I am confident that this sleeping pad lives up to its price-tag and would be a good investment for anyone who spends time in the outdoors. I Have used the Therm A Rest Prolite Plus on many trips now (Including Backpacking in Michigan, North Carolina, and Costa Rica) and tend to bring it with me whenever I stay over at someone’s house. I know that no matter where I go, this pad will guarantee me comfort no matter where I lay it.

Performance:

The Therm-A-Rest Prolite Plus is a 4-season pad with a sufficient r-value for typical outdoor activities. The Prolite Plus feels very durable and has shown no signs of wear (I have slept on sharp rocks and on hard roots without any issues) in the time that I have owned it. The pad deflates easily, but there is a trick to it (fold it and sit on it, close the valve, unfold, roll). Deflating the pad and rolling it can be done in about 1 minute. The valve is strong and easy to use. This pad is well-constructed.

What I liked:

  • Well-built. Shows no signs of wear after months of use (and abuse!)
  • Very insulating (R-value 3.8)
  • The pad doesn’t slide on the ground and I don’t slide off the pad
  • [mostly] self inflating
  • Large size fits me (6 foot, 180lb) with plenty of room to spare
  • Adjust air pressure to fit to preference and terrain

What I didn’t:

  • The stuff sack is sold separately, and the rated size does not fit well (see my review) 

Bottom line:

This is a backpackers dream bed and a guaranteed good night sleep whether used on the trail of in a friends basement. The Therm A Rest Prolite Plus is one of my favorite pieces of gear. It is worth the price.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
