RSS

Pura Vida – Pure Life [in Costa Rica]

01 Feb

I am back from Costa Rica. I have a tan that is fading too quickly in the Michigan weather, a thousand new photos, a hundred stories, ten infected cuts, and one brand-new scar. On my trip I saw cattle, toucans, osprey, pelicans, river otters, deadly snakes, numerous spiders, iguanas, crocodiles, toads as large as softballs, star fish, and hundreds of baby sea turtles making their way to the ocean.

Over the last month, I learned many farming and cooking techniques from five rural Tico (native Costa Rican) families. I learned how to harvest and process sugar cane into brown sugar and how to shell white rice with techniques they have used for centuries. I also learned much about the rural Tico culture in Costa Rica through interacting with families who spoke little (if any) English.

My month was spent backpacking from home to home in the rainforests of Costa Rica, whitewater kayaking on the Savegre and the Rio General, and dividing time between turtle restoration and surfing at Playa Hermosa.

Before I begin to break my trip down I will be writing a post about the Savegre River and the support needed in order to keep it around. The Costa Rican government has plans to destroy it to earn a profit. This would destroy the livelihood of thousands of people, lead to thousands of species that only live on the banks of this river to be extinct, and destroy the cleanest river in Central America. Please stay tuned to find out more and see how you can help. Any little bit you are willing to do will help. Please take it seriously; there is a lot of unnecessary damage that could happen from allowing this river to be destroyed.

I will be posting a day-by-day of my trip with pictures. I will try to post often, but I apologize that I cannot give a definite schedule of when I will post.  I am a full-time student at a very challenging college and am working part time. I hope you enjoy following me through my last expedition.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Pura Vida – Pure Life [in Costa Rica]

  1. Pam Menkveld

    4 February 2012 at 9:32 PM

    I am anxious to hear about your Costa Rica trip.
    Your other trip entries are interesting, fun to read and make
    me want to go on a back packing trip.
    PM

     

Leave a Reply

 
